My 2015 Highlights

As I sit here, 30,000 feet in the air, I thought I would use this time to reflect on the past year. 2015 has been one for the books and it’s hard to believe that in a mere five and a half days we will be ringing in the New Year. Looking back, here are some of my highlights (some fitness some not) for 2015.

ddt-mens-t-shirts-prints

Check out http://www.dynamicduotraining.com for more information

Joining Team Dynamic Duo Training. After experiencing a lack luster coach for my first contest prep, I did countless research to find a qualified coach for my next competition season. After much deliberation, I decided to join Team Dynamic Duo Training. They taught me that it was possible to be stage ready without a meal plan by using flexible dieting. They know their stuff, in regards to training AND nutrition and never once gave me a cookie cutter plan. I incorporated chocolate and ice cream into my prep without feeling deprived of the foods I love. They taught me to trust the process, give nothing less than 110%, and were with me every step of the way. We talked at least twice a week and despite them having other clients, I never once felt like I was not a priority. Off-season and reverse dieting with them was not any different. I have got to connect with my Team DDT teammates (shoutout to Ash Mitch if you’re reading this XOXO) and have met quality people I would not have been able to meet otherwise. Definitely one of my best decisions in 2015.

Successfully Completing a 21-Week Prep. Part of this success belongs to my amazing coaches- Team DDT. However, this prep showed me how tough I am both physically and mentally. I stuck to my macros without question. I never once skipped a workout despite days of feeling drained and exhausted. It showed me that I am capable of doing anything I set my mind to. I created a physique I was extremely proud of and won two trophies when I stepped on that stage(s). I wouldn’t trade a thing about my prep because it showed me just how strong I really am and despite the ups and downs, I can’t wait to do it again.

IMG_4950

Deadlift PR

Strength Gains. Over the past year, I have tried various training approaches courtesy of my coaches and my bf. Lifting heavy not only changed my physique but greatly improved my strength in the gym as well. Texas Training Method was one program that I really enjoyed (squats/deads/bench- pretty much ever training session) Last year at this time, I struggled to squat 160 and the last time I checked I was able to squat 210. (50+ lbs. of improvement) My bench improved to 115 lbs. and my deadlift reached a max of 230. Proper training, time, and persistence are all responsible for the strength gains I have made in the past year. Who knows what another year of training can do for my numbers…

My Relationship with Food. While this “highlight” is still always a work in progress, this has improved immensely over the past year. I no longer label foods, as “good” or “bad” and I no longer consider any food to be off limits. IIFYM really helped me realize that these “bad” foods do not exist and foods are merely carbs, fats, and protein in different amounts. After experiencing a bad rebound, with bingeing patterns, after my first show, I knew that was something I did not want to experience again. I worked on my negative emotions associated with foods (I.E. See previous post on Food Guilt” and after taking some time off from tracking, I feel as though the numbers and the foods I consume no longer define me. This has helped me not only physically (relearning my hunger signals, etc.) but mentally as well (food guilt, body image, etc.). And for me- that’s a win.

My Relationship. This highlight isn’t nutrition or fitness based but 2015 wouldn’t have been the same without him. He pushes me to be a better person, a better girlfriend, and a better me. He pushes me towards my goals whether that be pulling heavy weights or in the kitchen. He never hesitates to go to Cheesecake Factory with me because he knows it’s my favorite and he’s always down to get our pizza with stuffed crust (aka the BEST). He rubs the knots out of my back and makes me smile when I’m feeling down. He’s the peanut butter to my jelly and he makes my heart happy. I’m so thankful for all the memories we’ve made this year and I know that so many are yet to come.

IMG_4951

College. Finally, after many, many, many, many, many, MANY, years of college (lol at my life) I can finally say that I am one internship away from graduation. I did really well in my classes this year and learned a lot. (For all of you that don’t know- my major is Nutrition and my minor is Psychology). From Methods of Teaching Foods and Nutrition to Nutrition and Aging- I was able to learn more about specific areas available for my career field. I do not think that working with OA is the job for me but I guess you never know lol. I successfully completed a 45 minute lesson on sports nutrition that i am extremely proud of. I am just so happy that I am almost done and that I was able to complete a large amount of my credits that I needed to graduate.

Well, we are about an hour and a half (ish) into this flight and these were some of the highlights that came to mind for 2015. I feel as though I grew a lot as a bikini competitor, student, and most importantly, as a person. I’m so excited for 2016 and the possibilities that come along with it. What were some of your highlights for 2015?

Please comment below some of your favorite highlights from this past year as well as comment and let me know what you would be interested in seeing in future blog posts coming in 2016. I’m thinking about doing a Bikini Prep Blog Series starting the New Year if anyone would be interested in reading more about what goes into a competition prep….

Hope everyone is having a great holiday,

Please like/comment/and subscribe.

Talk soon,

PBANDLAURENKELLY

 

Tell me your thoughts!

