Dieting Hacks

Dieting is not “easy” by any means… but that doesn’t mean every second spent dieting has to be miserable. I have prepped for bikini competitions twice before and am currently prepping for my 2016 Competition Season. As of today, we are 6 weeks in with 15 more weeks of dieting (for show #1) to go. Some days are/will be harder than others and that’s just part of the process. With that being said, i have found some dieting tips and tricks that have made dieting easier for me, in the past and present, and can maybe be helpful to you as well. Here we go..

59176352.jpg

Haha DEFINITELY have said this before


I put off eating my first meal. AKA intermittent fasting. (Now, i do not follow the 8 or 9 hour eating window that’s typically associated with intermittent fasting…I just do not eat immediately upon waking up). With dieting comes smaller amounts of food…duh right? Some days i wake up earlier than others for things such as school or the gym. If i was to eat my first meal before i started my day, i would be starving by the end of the day OR i would be forced to space out my meals into 6 or 7 small meals. Putting off eating my first meal allows me to 1) eat 4 larger meals throughout the day which leaves me more satisfied and 2)gives me a smaller eating window so i don’t have to worry about being starving by the end of the night. This is not saying that i do not wake up hungry, some days i am hungrier than others. However, i’ll start my day with coffee and that typically helps calm those hunger feels down a bit. Intermittent fasting is not for everyone but i personally love it. (I can do a blog post specifically on Intermittent Fasting if anyone is interested..Just leave a comment below). 

IMG_2829

Aren’t eating for a while? THE ANSWER: Coffee

Coffee. Not only do i love coffee for the energy boosting properties but also for it’s flavor. Sometimes you just want something sweet and for me coffee can do the trick. There are so many amazing coffee flavors out there right now such as S’mores, Blueberry Muffin, Caramel Coffee Cake and so many more. My philosophy is if you can’t eat it you might as well drink it in coffee form lol. I also love HOT coffee because 1) forever cold on bikini prep and 2) the hot beverage can help give you a feeling of fullness (if only temporary). So yes, COFFEE!

IMG_5695

Flavored Water. Hydration is so important on prep and when it comes to dieting in general. You don’t want to be mistaking your thirst for hunger…so drink up. However, sometimes drinking water is just blah. It gets boring. So to switch things up i am OBSESSED with water squirters. My current flavor obsession is the Raspberry Lemonade flavor from Crystal Light. There are some good Walmart brand flavors as well such as Tropical Pineapple Coconut Lime and Peach Mango Passion Fruit. Another way to add some flavor to your water is from BCAA’s or branch chain amino acids. These can also help to aid in muscle recovery as well (another added benefit). The flavor possibilities are endless.

IMG_5692.JPGEat Foods You ENJOY. You would think this point is common sense but it isn’t always. During my first prep, i ate cottage cheese as a part of my diet because my coach told me to….because it’s “good for you”. WOOF! I ate it and i hated every minute of it. You don’t have to eat foods that you don’t like just because you are on a diet. Find foods that you enjoy and taste great. For me, my current food obsessions are Birdseye Steamable Broccoli in Cheese Sauce, Refried Beans, Uncle Ben’s 90 Second rice, Laughing Cow Cheese, Peanut Butter and Mini Cheesecakes (lol duh). All really enjoyable foods that fit my macros. Win.

IMG_5693.JPGHigh Volume Foods. Not only do you need to eat foods that you enjoy but you want to be eating high volume foods. These are foods that give you a large amount of food for a small amount of calories/macros. These will help you feel fuller longer and that is a major key when dieting. Some examples of high volume foods would be: broccoli, asparagus, spaghetti squash, spinach, zucchini, cauliflower mashed potatoes, cauliflower oats, strawberries, and salad for dayzzzzzz. Stick these foods into your diet and eat up!

Support System. In previous preps, i was living with my sister (WAHHH @mbkellyy i miss you) and my boyfriend recently moved to New York leaving me in our apartment alone (miss you too babe lol). With that being said, although i am physically alone- it is so important to have a support system. Life will be so much easier if you have someone/s who you can talk to, to encourage you, motivate you, and push you on those days that are a little more difficult. It’ll be helpful to talk to someone who knows what you are going through and that you can relate to. Shoutout to my sister, my boyfriend, my bikini friends, new social media friends (helloooo to @lauraelizzzzabeth if you are reading this), and my amazing teammates a Team DDT. 

Cardio Entertainment. Typically, as the time spent dieting increases so does the time spent cardio. I am in the same boat. So, for my MISS and HIIT sessions, how do i entertain myself? YOUTUBE. So many of the fit fam have fantastic youtube channels and trust me when i say nothing will get that booty running faster than seeing bikini girls up on stage come show day. Some fantastic youtube channels i follow are Ash Mitcham, Jonathan Holz (yay bf), Brittany Lesser, Em Dunc, Elle Best Fit Body, Marie Wold, Christi Lynn, Kelsey Noah, Amanda Bucci, Nicki Blackketter, and Arianna Dantone. If you can’t find hours of entertainment on these channels then something is wrong lol. 

IMG_5696.JPG


 

So those are some of the dieting tips that i am taking advantage of this prep and hopefully you will be able to utilize them as well. What tips do you have when it comes to dieting and making the most of your prep macros? Definitely leave a comment below and share your tips with me and everyone else. 

Thanks so much for checking out my blog and keep checking back for more,
Talk soon,

PBANDLAURENKELLY.png

5 thoughts on “Dieting Hacks

  1. Kitty says:

    I would appreciate a post about fasting. I’ve been looking into it and started doing something similar as well, eating breakfast later in he day vs upon waking.
    coffee helps me as well! I just got a keurig so I’m excited to get yummy flavors, do you ever add anything to your coffee or do you just stick with black?
    great and helpful tips! especially to myself as I am new to prep lifestyle. it’s not easy but your suggestions are very helpful!
    thanks for taking the time to post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • PBandLaurenKelly says:

      Absolutely girl I will do a post about IF for you.

      I add sweet and low to my coffee typically as well as sf caramel syrup. I only do black coffee super close to show lol
      But thanks so much for reading and commenting ❤️

      Like

  2. Laura Peterson says:

    Cottage cheese is the nastiest thing on the planet earth. Nothing makes it tastes better. Nothing. Not even PB.

    Great tips! Spaghetti squash is my favorite volume food!!!

    And yes! Yay for new social media friends! So happy you’re in muhhhhhh life girly! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me your thoughts!

