Show Recap: NPC Northeast Summer Classic

Hello my friends. Long time no post… once again. I was hoping to give you guys an update sooner on my second, and last, show of the season but once again, that did not happen. I competed on Saturday, July 9th, spent Sunday in NYC with the bf, and drove back home on Monday (which literally took like all day). The rest of this past week i have been super busy with my last days at my job and packing up my apartment…. why? Because i am moving to NEW YORK… Ahh! It’s been a long time coming and I’m going off on a tangent so that’s for another post… Let’s get to the point of this blog… Recapping the Northeast Summer Classic.

Peak Week

Peak week for this show was pretty similar to peak week numero uno. The goal between these two shows was to bring me in leaner and tighter… Instead of doing a lot of HIIT towards the end of the week, like i had previously, most of my HIIT was done Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. Followed by some lower intensity cardio during the rest of the week. I was a huge fan of this. This was to help give my legs time to recover and as a result, look better on stage (success IMO).  Macros stayed pretty consistent with where they were prior and i was still dropping weight. I dropped about .5 inch on my waist and about 3 lbs in between my two shows. Coach Eric knew what he was doing. I was eating the same foods as previously, cut out artificial sweeteners and dairy, and taking pictures 3x a day…all while working most days at the OG.

Thursday-2 Days Out

The Thursday before my show, i woke up early, got my workout in, and worked a lunch shift. Once i was off, i went to the nail salon to get my nails touched up (no one wants to go on stage with ratchet nails so this was a must lol). By the time i was done, it was about 4 pm. I went home, grabbed my bags and food, and off to NY i went. The drive took about 6/6.5 hours and i ended up making pretty good time because there wasn’t much traffic. For this show, the bf and I decided to save some $$ and stay at his apartment instead of paying for a hotel (solid choice). Since i got in late, we unloaded my luggage, and off to sleep we went.

IMG_7191.JPG

Fresh claws

Friday- 1 Day Out

Friday was spent watching the boyfriend eat A LOT of carbs while i did….not lol. But seriously, we woke up, got in our last 20 minutes of cardio, grabbed some last minute groceries/ show day necessities, and prepped our food for show day. By the time all that was done, it was time to go get our spray tans at 6pm. This company’s tan, while i felt the tan looked good, felt super sticky and i didn’t feel as tho they allowed ample drying time. Oh well. Following that, there was not much left to do for the day so we turned in early after packing up our show day bags and food.

Show Day

My show day started SUPER early… 2 am to be exact lol. Why so early? Well, makeup. I booked my appointment super late with the makeup company so i got the crappy, early time lol- 2:45 AM. Oh well, this wasn’t a big deal to me because as long as i had someone else doing my makeup i would take what i could get. I drove to the hotel and got my makeup done. I felt that she did a really good job and i liked how the makeup looked different and more dramatic than my previous show. I did feel like she went a little too heavy on my brows (don’t worry, i fixed them later on) but overall, i felt she did a great job. Following makeup, i went back to bed for 3 more hours (win).

Upon waking, I weighed in at 110.7 and drank a little bit of water. I fixed my hair and makeup, ate, grabbed everything we needed for show day and out the door we went. Check-ins for this show were the day of the show, which i had never experienced before. We checked in, got our numbers, i was number 114, got our goodie bags and then waited in line for tan touch ups. (I got another coat of tan). We then found a spot to set up our stuff, eat, and got comfy.

The bikini division, at this show, was last. I watched the boyfriend step on stage for prejudging and waited some more. This show was well run in that it went by relatively quickly. I competed in the Novice and Open divisions. There were 9 girls in my Open class and 12 in my novice. The girls backstage at this show were super nice and friendly and it was nice to be able to connect with girls while we waited to step on stage. After stepping off stage, i knew i had gotten first callouts for Open and did not think i had placed top 5 in my Novice class.

IMG_5550

Poor quality stage shot but a stage shot none the less

Following prejudging, we packed up our stuff and headed back to the apartment. We were super hungry and tired at this point. We made food and napped before it was time to head back to the venue for finals around 6.

Once back at the venue, finals went just as quickly. The boyfriend ending up placing 4th in Men’s Open Physique and 5th in Men’s Novice Physique. Yay, boyfriend! As for me, i placed 4th in Bikini Open and 5th in Bikini Novice. I was SUPER happy with this because i had not expected to place in Novice at all. The boyfriend and i did not have any family in the audience to watch us compete this time (which is why we have little to no quality stage photos…whomp whomp). My bf’s friend, Scott, did stop by to show his support which was much appreciated. The show ended earlier than we had anticipated which was GREAT because that meant we would make it to both of our post show eats locations. Scott joined us for the fun as well. Immediately after stepping off stage, the boyfriend grabbed the butterfingers he had spontaneously purchased for post show noms… and we each had one… OMG SO GOOD.

IMG_5858.JPG

Another poor quality stage shot from finals

POST SHOW EATS

At this point, it is a tradition that after my second competition of the season we get two things… PIZZA and FROYO. And that is exactly what we did. After checking out countless restaurants and menus online the days prior, we eventually chose Magnotta’s Pizzeria and 16 Handles.

  • First things first: Water and Diet Soda. (do you see a pattern here?)
  • PIZZA TIME: Completely unaware just how massive these pizzas were going to be…we definitely went a little (or a lot) crazy with our order lol. We ordered a small chicken bacon ranch pizza and a sicilian pizza: half extra cheese//half meatball. The chicken bacon ranch pizza was BY FAR my favorite…omg i am drooling just thinking about it right now. SO SO GOOD. Chicken, ranch, cheese, and bacon.. You can’t go wrong.
  • FROYOOOOO: We made it to 16 Handles about 30 minutes before they were supposed to close. (YAS GIRL YASSS). Here is what flavors/toppings went into this delicious creation….
    • Graham Cracker Froyo
    • Birthday Cake Froyo
    • Cookies N Cream Froyo
    • Peanut Butter Perfection Froyo
    • Nutella Froyo
    • Cheesecake Bites–LOTS AND LOTS OF CHEESECAKE BITES lol.
    • Butterfinger
    • Chocolate Covered Pretzels
    • Crushed Oreo
    • Wet Walnuts
    • Mini Peanut Butter Cups
    • Peanut Butter Sauce
    • Marshmallow Sauce
    • Sprinkles
    • Whipped Topping

This post competition meal was EVERYTHING that i had expected/wanted it to be. By the time i finished dinner and dessert, yes, i was full. But i didn’t feel sick, throw up, or anything like that. I enjoyed every single bite and this was very much deserved after 24 weeks of hard dieting.

Sunday: 1 Day Post Show

What was different about this Sunday, compared to the last Sunday post show, was that i had a “free, untracked day” as opposed to being put back on cutting macros. For the first time in over 24 weeks i didn’t have to track my food, weigh everything out, or preplan out my day. The boyfriend and i simply had the day, to enjoy ourselves and eat mindfully, before beginning our REVERSE DIET the following Monday. The boyfriend and I woke up and made breakfast at the apartment. I won’t bore you with the details of all the food i ate but i will tell you that i did try the Kodiak Cakes Dark Chocolate Pancake Mix and OMG it was delicious. (There were chocolate chips in the mix and omg, yes, go get yourself some). Anyway, we had the day off from the gym so we showered, pulled ourselves together, and took a metro to spend the day in NYC.

We walked around Grand Central Station, Time Square, and Central Park… We walked, walked, and walked some more. We tried out Fresh&Co for lunch which was delicious. We each created our own salads and split one of their paninis. I would definitely recommend this place and 10/10 will eat again. After more walking, we checked out the FAMOUS Levain Bakery and took some of their famous cookies, to go, to enjoy later. After a long day, we took the metro home, and hit up the grocery store to grab the ingredients to make tacos for dinner (which turned out delicious). We ended the night by heating up our Levain Bakery cookies in the microwave and OMG they definitely lived up to the hype. The day ended up being a huge success and i cannot wait to cross more restaurants and bakeries of our NYC Food List.

As of Monday the 11th, i am back to tracking my macros and have started “reverse dieting”.

I am thinking about doing a separate blog post/series on Reverse Dieting to give a little more feedback about what it is, how it works, my offseason and reverse dieting goals, etc… If you have any questions, or thoughts on reverse dieting, please feel free to ask or comment below. 

And last, but not least, i want to say thank you to everyone who has texted me or followed my progress these past 24 weeks of competition prep. Prep is not easy.. it’s a huge challenge, some days drag by slowly, but looking back I cannot believe how fast these 24 weeks FLEW by. I feel like i blinked and now it is all over. 2 competitions, 4 trophies later, and it’s time for some new goals, some new focus, and balance.

Be sure to subscribe to this blog, if you aren’t already, so you don’t miss a second of this “off season,” “growing season,” improvement season” whatever you want to call it… There will be a lot more content, recipes, and FOOD reviews coming your way that you will not want to miss. Please do not hesitate to leave me a comment with future  post ideas that you guys would like to see because i want to post what you guys are interested in.

Thanks SO much for reading and keep checking back for more,

PBANDLAURENKELLY

Tell me your thoughts!

