Blogmas Day 8: Ask Yourself WHY

Hello, my friends! Today’s post is a lot less festive and Christmassy but it is something that I feel very strongly about and something that I think is relevant this time of year.

December is stereotypically the month to focus on “enjoying life”. December is about making memories with your family and friends, eating good food, and being more lax with our diet and training. Why? Because it’s December. The holidays come around once a year and we make different areas of our life a priority. There is nothing wrong with that and that is 100% OK. I do the same thing.

Then January comes. It’s time for New Year’s resolutions and getting back on track. It is going on a diet and shedding all those holiday lbs. you gained from copious amounts of Christmas cookies. This is often the time you see all us competitors starting to prep for competitions. The holidays are over, there aren’t any more food centered holidays and so it’s a great time to start prepping for a show. With social media, it is so easy to see and share our goals and what we are doing. We see people getting into new sports, dieting, going vegan, going to cross fit, or prepping for a bodybuilding competition and think “I’m gonna do it too”…

200-19

But wait….

I think it is important to ask ourselves WHY. Why do I want to do this? Is it because you see everyone on social media doing it? Is it because it’s the cool thing to do? Is it because you want to feel included? Is it because you want to post about it on your Instagram or Twitter? WHY?

Just because everyone else is starting a bodybuilding prep, doesn’t mean you need to do it as well. Bikini preps aren’t something you do as a joke or on a whim. You should know what it entails before you jump in, headfirst. If you are a seasoned competitor, and you see all your friends starting to prep again… how do you know it is or isn’t the right time FOR YOU to start your prep? Did you put on all that muscle that you wanted to? Did you make the improvements that the judges suggested? Did you give your body and metabolism time to reset and recover? Ask yourself why you do or don’t want to prep. Are you choosing to prep despite knowing you’re not ready? Are you competing because you know you will feel left out if you’re the only one not prepping for spring shows?

News Flash: I UNDERSTAND. I get it. I have made the decision to not do a bikini prep in 2017. Why? Because I need to take 2017 and focus on other goals. My personal, life, and fitness goals (If you’re curious what these are let me know and I can do a separate blog posts about it). I know that I am going to see more and more girls on social media starting their bikini preps and even more once the holidays are over. I know that I am going to feel like the odd man out. I’ll probably be a little jealous of their lean physiques, sparkly suits, and dorito spray tans. And yes, I could just say “fuk it-let’s prep”. But, I know deep down, that wouldn’t be the right thing to do. I wouldn’t be doing it FOR ME and MY GOALS. I’d be doing it for other people’s approval and admiration. I’d be doing it for the fear of being left out. I’d be selling myself short. None of which, are good enough reasons, to throw away my goals.

dea2a921bb757c7a0412cf9945d085c3

So I want you to ask yourself “WHY?” before you start creating your goals for 2017. WHY? WHY? WHY? Why do you want to do those things? Who are you doing it for?

You can’t diet because everyone else is.

You can’t say I’m going to do intuitive eating now because it’s the cool thing to do.

You can’t do a bikini prep because you want to fit in.

You can’t start CrossFit because x, y, z say that you should.

You can’t become vegan because everyone on social media is telling you to eat less meat.

Make decisions FOR YOURSELF. Set goals FOR YOURSELF. Form your own opinions and stick to them. Don’t change your mind because of the fear of missing out. You won’t feel happy and satisfied doing something that you know you don’t want to do or that you aren’t mentally or physically ready for.

Hopefully these rambles resonate with some of you and you are able to understand what I am trying to say. I want all of us to do what makes us happy, even if that is something different than what everyone else is doing. You aren’t everyone else. Do you, boo. Do you!

How do you make sure you are setting goals that are right for you? How do you stop yourself from doing something for the wrong reasons? Please leave a comment if you are able to relate to this post and share how it resonates with you.

I hope you guys enjoyed this less festive Blogmas post. With New Year’s fast approaching, I think it’s something that everyone needs to think about and understand. Thanks so much for continuing to read my posts. Hit that like button and be sure to check back tomorrow for a much merrier Blogmas post.

Happy Holidays, XO

pbandlaurenkelly

5 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 8: Ask Yourself WHY

  1. genevievemcohen says:

    Looooved this. So true, and I love that you mentioned how your taking a long off season to focus on other goals, not everything has to be about competing even for competitors which is a really hard thing for a lot of people. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  2. Julia says:

    Girl, this post is truer than true. Every year my resolution is the same, lose weight and be fit. As a dietetics major (you know what I’m going to say), food is an obsession. It’s all we hear about. We live, breathe, and bleed food. So, this year I’m switching my focus from food and weight and taking my resolution to a whole new level. My goal is to learn a new language. Also, it will be to switch my focus away from food and fitness because it’s in my every day life, I don’t feel the need to make more emphasis on it. Also, learning a new language is just cool!

    Liked by 1 person

    • PBandLaurenKelly says:

      Learning a language is awesome. What language do you want to learn? I wish i spoke spanish fluently… i know a fair share but i would love to know more. Good for you on focusing on another area of your life beside “food”…im doing the same as well. New goals, New priorities.

      Like

Tell me your thoughts!

