New Year, New Me? MY 2017 Goals

Hello, my fabulous friends! Today is January 7th, and it has been a hot minute since i have blogged for you guys. By luck (and several of inches of snow here in New York) i actually have the day off from both jobs so i figured why not?! I am still trying to come up with a consistent blogging schedule because i recently got a new work schedule at the gym, so trying to find what days i have the most time. I’m thinking about committing to two posts  a week. What specific days? Still to be determined… but we’ll get there.

So today’s blog post is a segway from one of the blogs i posted during Blogmas, Blogmas Day 20: Goal Setting in 2017. Whether or not you believe in making New Year’s Resolutions is irrelevant and not the point i am trying to make… I believe that whether or not it is January 1st or July 2nd, we should all be setting goals for ourselves and working to be better than we currently are.

I personally like starting the New Year out with a go-getter attitude and setting goals to pursue for the year. It’s a chance to reflect on the previous year and see how you want to improve and what you want to achieve in the coming year. This blog post is to fill you guys in on MY New Year’s Resolutions, or goals, and to give you a little insight into what i will be working on in 2017.

I want to share these goals with you guys for several reasons. I want to put these goals out there so i can say- this is what i will achieve in 2017. This is what i am working towards and this is what I’m going after. Some of these goals you will see on social media and on this blog (if you continue below and read my NYR’s, you’ll see what i mean). However, some of these goals are more personal than others. I still want to share them with you but not necessarily all the small details and stuff that will go into it.  Hopefully you can understand that. I believe that you can work on something, for yourself, without sharing every single detail on social media. But hey, to each their own. These bullet points below are the “broad picture” of my goals, I’m leaving out details on how i plan to reach them, but just remember when you are creating your own NYRs, they need to be specific and measurable (and for more tips on goal setting, read the blog post here). 


So let’s get to it… My goals for 2017…

fullsizerender-3

Circa April 2015: This time around the boyfriend and I will BOTH be competing.

  • Compete in Powerlifting. Yup, i’m doing it. For 2017, i am stepping away from bikini competitions and giving powerlifting a try. For a lot of reasons, i have decided not to do a bikini prep in 2017 (i can do a separate post on why if that is something you would like to see, so comment below if it is). I want to focus on getting stronger and challenging myself in the gym. So that is what we are working towards now, and what i have been working towards these past few weeks. My boyfriend has been creating my programming and we (him and i are both) going to compete have a meet picked out to compete in come May. I do not want to say the specific meet quite yet because 1) i have yet to officially sign up and 2) i don’t want to say in case that specific meet fills up before i reserve my spot. But as soon as i register, you guys will be the first to know. Will i be any good at it? Who knows, but looks like we are about to find out LOL. I have decided that i am going to do a Powerlifting Prep Series, just like i did for my Bikini Prep Series, so if you have any questions, or are looking to learn more about powerlifting, leave a comment and we can learn more together.
IMG_8953.JPG

The growth of PBandLaurenKelly and other social media outlets.

  • Grow My Social Media. This has been something that I have been trying to do for a while now (and failed), but in 2017 it is something that i want to make a priority. I want to work on growing my instagram, this blog: PBandLaurenKelly, and i would like to eventually start a YouTube channel. I feel as though i have a lot to share with others about fitness, nutrition, and my personal experiences because those are things that i am truly passionate about. My boyfriend got me a camera for christmas (because he knew i wanted to start a youtube, bless him..how adorbs) so i want to be able to put that to good use. I have been taking the steps to grow my social media and I am hoping that within the year, 2017, i will be able to start up said Youtube.  As i also mentioned, i really do want to work and grow this blog as well. It makes my heart SO HAPPY when people tell me that they enjoy reading my posts and that they find my posts to be helpful and inspiring. I am planning out when, how many times a week, and what topics i am going to blog about so that i can really do my best to help this blog grow.  I want this blog to continue to reach and even larger audience and to really grow in 2017.
200-49.gif

$$$$$$

  • Financial Responsibility. How adult of me. (I know, right?). This year I am making the effort to save more and set money aside for a few things that i want to do. I’m going to regularly start saving, and set money aside so that i am able to 1) go to California and watch @ashmitchfit compete in her figure competition and 2) visit @mbkellyy in NOLA come September of this year. I want to have the money to do those things so that I am able to book those flights without hesitation or second thought. I am also going to make regular payments to pay off bills/loans that i have, so i can (hopefully) make a dent in those and pay some of them off this year. Also falling into this category, i would like to be able to work ONE job without feeling the need to work two jobs on a regular basis. I want to have a job where i feel as though I am using my degree in Nutrition to the best of my ability and really putting my nutrition knowledge and skills to use… every. single. day.

So, there you have it. My goals for this coming year…2017. This post was just an overview of the goals I have set for myself. I do have smaller, more specific steps and goals written down and mapped out so that i am best able to reach these larger, more ambitious goals. I am very excited for 2017 and all it’s potential. I love challenging myself to grow as a person and i firmly believe that i will do just that, this coming year.

What are your goals for 2017? What BIG, AMBITIOUS goals are you really challenging yourself with this year? If you haven’t come up with any goals for 2017, or even goals for January for that matter, go ahead and do so RIGHT NOW. Please leave a comment and share your goals, I would love to know whatever you are working towards this upcoming year. 

Thank you so much for clicking on this post and checking out PBandLaurenKelly in the New Year. There is ALOT of exciting content coming to this blog in the upcoming weeks so be sure to “subscribe” if you aren’t already. As always, feel free to leave a comment with topic ideas of what you would like to see, and if you enjoyed this post, be sure to hit that “like” button. 

Talk soon,

pbandlaurenkelly

5 thoughts on “New Year, New Me? MY 2017 Goals

Tell me your thoughts!

