JOURNALING: Why I Do It & Why YOU Should, Too.

Hello my friends! So earlier this week, I was a day late in posting my (December) January Favorites. I promised myself that I would be on top of my ish and have Saturday’s blog posted Saturday morning at 11 AM as promised. Well I stuck to my promise guys and here we are.

I made an Instagram post earlier in the week about Journaling and I thought I would take use this blog post as an opportunity to elaborate on that. In the past, I felt as though journaling had a negative stigma attached to it… Kind of like only teenage girls write in journals… “Dear diary, bobby and I held hands under the bleachers today*giggle giggle*. But in the past few years, or maybe just since I’ve grown up, I feel as though journaling has become a lot more common-especially for adults and people my age. I am 25 years old and yes, technically an adult… but I still find myself looking around for a more adult- adult…haha I am rambling, but you fellow 20-something year olds know what I’m saying lol. Anyway, I digress… My point is journaling has become a lot more common. And for good reason. Journaling has so many benefits. (Continuing reading if you want to know more). First, let me tell you why I enjoy journaling…

Why Do I Enjoy Journaling?

  • Helps me self-reflect and become more self-aware
  • Helps me plan out daily goals
  • Helps me start the day with a positive attitude
  • Helps me relieve feelings of stress and anxiety

Those are just a few of the main reasons why I enjoy journaling. There are so many other examples of how journaling can positively impact your life. Such as:

  • Improve your language/communication skills
  • Increase mindfulness
  • Help you reach your goals
  • Boost memory
  • Build self confidence
  • Help you better process your thoughts and emotions
  • Improve self esteem
  • Help strengthen self-discipline
  • Emotional healing

Okay, so I just gave you SOOOO many reasons how journaling helps improve an individuals quality of life- hello, less stress, better sleep… need I say more? Taking a simple step to incorporate journaling into your daily life has so many benefits, and it’s simple, so there is really no reason not to do it.

If you are new to journaling, I have a few steps to help you make the transition into journaling a little bit easier for you.

  1. Find a journal that you like. Whether that be a pretty cover, a journal with quotes inside that relates to your current situation, or a journal that asks you questions (provides prompts) for you to think about and reflect on… that’s the first step.
  2. Start slow. Don’t just start off saying you are going to journal every single day. Start with three days a week and work your way up.
  3. Pick a time. Would you rather journal first thing in the morning or at night before you go to sleep? Pick one that works best with your schedule and stick to it.
  4. Be open. No one will be reading your journal except you. You do not have to worry about “sounding stupid” or worry that what you’re saying doesn’t make sense. This is your chance to talk about your day, your feelings, your thoughts, tell stories, whatever your little heart desires. Be open to the idea of just writing and not judging yourself for how it sounds or what others would think.
  5. Just start.

giphy-5

I hope this post helps some of you who may have wanted to start journaling but were unsure how to get started. Or perhaps you used to journal and fell out of habit (like myself). I have been back to journaling for the past 6 days and I have been enjoying it immensely. I enjoy starting my day with a nice cup of coffee and taking the time to reflect on my thoughts and feelings.

When is your favorite time to journal? What type of journal do you use? How long have you been journaling and in what ways do you find that journaling benefits you the most?

Thanks so much for continuing to read my blog posts each week. I am really excited to be back on a consistent posting schedule and getting new content out to you guys every Wednesday and Saturday (at 11:00 AM). Please feel free to leave a comment with any blogging ideas you may have and hit that “like” button if you enjoyed this post.

Talk soon,

pbandlaurenkelly

2 thoughts on “JOURNALING: Why I Do It & Why YOU Should, Too.

Tell me your thoughts!

