Defunk A Funk

Hello, friends! Hope y’all have been having a great week so far. Today’s post is going to be some ramblings on my end followed by some tips that i think you may find helpful.

If you follow me on Instagram, or any of my other social medias (if you don’t, what you doinnnn? Go follow me here), you may have seen that i said i was in a little bit of a “funk”. And I wasn’t really sure why- just this overwhelming feeling of “meh”. tenorI wasn’t particularly motivated when it came to fitness. Yes, i was still (mostly) hitting my macros, going to the gym, doing cardio, but I wasn’t particularly excited about it. I wasn’t particularly excited about life either. It just felt routine… going to work, gym, home, just unexciting… like i should be doing more… that i can be doing MORE with my life. I was also dealing with some outside stress from friends, someone who was more than friend… but let’s not get into that lol, whomp.

Being in a funk is a shitty feeling so in an effort to not feel so “meh” i started thinking about what i could do to help “defunk my funk” and feel a little more like myself… Here’s what I have been doing.

  • Starting my day with journaling. I mention this A LOT just because i am so passionate about it lol. It had been a hot minute since i had journaled so i started getting back into the habit of journaling while sipping on my morning cup of joe. I journal about my thoughts and feelings and set my goals and intentions for the day. It gives me a sense of purpose and it helps me feel like i have a purpose for the day ahead. 
  • Having a positive attitude. I am a huge believer that attitude is everything. Yes, i was feeling “meh” but focusing on that negative feeling and complaining about it, 088b1d9282c4fb801be56b762bb7b6bdcertainly was not doing me any good. I’m not saying to completely disregard how you are feeling but if it’s not helping you in some way, then something needs to change.

Choose to have a positive attitude when maybe you aren’t feeling the most positive. Choose to look on the bright side of not the greatest situations. Choose to not let those negative thoughts creep in and ruin your day. That choice to be positive is up to you.

  • Ignore the negativity. This kind of goes along with the previous point, but i think it’s worth mentioning. When you are around people that are constantly complaining or negative, that shit is contagious. It’s hard not to let their negative energy bring you down. My advice? Walk away from the negativity. Don’t engage in a conversation with those people- coworkers, friends of friends, even your friends or family- who try to dull your positivity and bring you down. Just because they choose to be negative doesn’t mean that you need to be negative as well. Focus on the positive instead, be happy, irregardless of those around you trying to tell you otherwise. 
  • Finding the best gym routine. During this funk, i had been inconsistent when it comes to my training. I was going to the gym a lot later than usual, didn’t really have much of a routine, and was just sort of doing whatever instead of following a training program. Sometimes that is okay, but sometimes you just need a little more structure. For me, this means going to the gym in the morning as opposed to going late at night. I know that i ALWAYS have a better workout in the morning compared to the evening. I also started a new training program that focuses more on hypertrophy than strength which gave me a new focus in the gym. What works for me may not work for you- so find what you enjoy.
  • Switching up my foods. I mentioned that i was feeling less than motivated when it came to my diet so in an effort to change that, i decided to switch up some of my meals. I saw that i was eating pretty much the same things, day in and day out, so i decided to switch things up. I tried some new foods that i haven’t had before or haven’t had in a while. Find foods that you are excited about eating and that you enjoy. There’s no point eating chicken and green beans for every meal if you don’t like green beans and you’re tired of chicken. My go to’s have been Avocado Toast and a lower carb “taco” bowl made with ground turkey, shredded lettuce, cauliflower rice, refried beans, onion and salsa. YUM. 
  • Do things you enjoy. Making yourself a priority and doing things that make you feel good is so important when you find yourself in a rut. What do you enjoy? For me, this could be blogging, laying by the pool with a good book, grabbing a coffee with friends, and/or getting some quality sleep. I know that i always feel so much better when i am getting quality sleep and doing things that benefit me and make me feel good. Ask yourself what that means for you and do that. Go for a walk, paint, color, get outside, sing, go to the movies, bake, whatever it may be…

giphy-6

 

Those are some of the things that i have been doing in an effort to defunk my funk. When i posted about this on social media, some of ya’ll actually commented some tips and suggestions that you had and i wanted to share them with y’all as well. (I’ll post the persons @instagramhandle next to their tips as to give them credit for their great ideas-thanks y’all).

 

  • “…sometime’s it helps setting goals (PRs) or in my case, getting back into something I enjoy…” –@kimorawingard
  • “Switch up your music, find a workout partner, buy some cute workout clothes, this one seems silly but do your makeup before going to the gym so you feel bomb while you’re there” -@christilynnfit
  • “…Try to find a way to easy back into it! Rollerblade, running through a park, tennis, soccer, fun ways to get active” –@monicaevafit
  • “Don’t sweat it. Just keep moving forward. And plan ahead, especially if you know you are going out– find out where and plan your meals accordingly so you can enjoy it” -Max Laing

So there you have it! Some of my tips, as well as some helpful advice i received from others, on how to Defunk A Funk. I am by no means saying that I am back to feeling 100% myself, but i am definitely in a better place than i was a week ago. Once you identify that you aren’t feeling like your usual, motivated self, take a moment and think about why that may be. From there, you can make a conscious effort to implement positive daily changes into your life and finally get out of that rut.

What are some of the ways YOU go about Defunking A Funk? Leave a comment and share your ideas below because i know we could all benefit from these tips. No one feels 100% all the time and we all experience these feelings at one time or another- so let’s help each other out! Also, feel free to leave any ideas you may have for future posts here on the blog.

As always, thanks so much for reading and keep checking back for more,

PBANDLAURENKELLY

One thought on “Defunk A Funk

Tell me your thoughts!

