July Favorites

Hello, my friends! Happy Friday! It blows my mind how fast this summer has flown by and i know i can’t be the only one. It’s already August, like wtf… So crazy. It has been a hot minute since i have done a “Monthly Favorites” blog post- since April i believe, so that is what we are going to do today… a July Favorites blog post. Here we go…

  1. Birds Eye Mashed Cauliflower. 

    As someone who was dieting for a minute, your girl has time to find a few great low carb food options… and this is one of them. This mashed cauliflower works as a good substitute for the higher carb mashed potatoes we all know and love. It has a slightly different texture than mashed potatoes but it’s still similar. Don’t be scared if you do not like cauliflower. Cauliflower is a vegetable that takes the flavor of the seasonings and foods you add to it, so even if you aren’t a huge fan of cauliflower, i still recommend giving this a try. This mash is not seasoned so I typically add some seasonings such as salt, pepper, garlic, and spray butter. Yum. Macros for this cauliflower mash is on point: 50 calories- 3F/6C/2P per serving. A serving is a 1/2c or 120 grams…which is a respectable serving. I found these at Target.

  2. Riced Cauliflower. 

    Can you tell I have been on a cauliflower kick lately? I have eaten this every single day since i got back from California… over two weeks ago. I like to make a “low carb” chipotle bowl… that i mentioned in my last blog post. This bowl consists of shredded lettuce, cauliflower “rice”, onion, refried beans, tomato, and a protein of some sorts- either chicken or ground turkey typically. SO SO good.

    IMG_1026

    Low Carb “Chipotle” Bowl

    It has a similar texture as rice and makes for a delicious low carb chipotle bowl… saves you some money as well. This particular brand i found at Target. This would be delicious added to a stir fry or even as a low carb version of “fried rice”. Macros for this particular version are: 25 Calories- 0F/5C/2P.  I do find another version of this that is not the medley version at Walmart… however, the past two times I have gone, they have been sold out. I believe that one has 3 carbs per serving but irregardless. Awesome food find if you are looking for low carb options.

  3. Birds Eye Zucchini Lentil Pasta. 

    Is this blog post turning into me raving about Birds Eye Veggie Made products? lol. Oh well. So, i have never been a huge fan of pasta. Yes, i like it… but I never am like, “Wow, i really want pasta”. I would just rather get my carb sources else where. Well, in an effort this past month to “switch up” my food choices, i found this. Listen to these macros… For the marinara sauce pasta, 150 Calories: 3.5F/21C/8P…. 21 CARBS GUYS! This is absolutely unheard of for a serving of pasta. They also have a version with a cheese sauce that is also delicious. If you are looking for a lower carb pasta, 10/10 would recommend this brand. I have only been able to find these at Target, however, the past two times i went, they were sold out. (get your wish together, target!) So, if you find these, better stock up.

  4. Avocado. My favorite source of fat right now, in addition to peanut butter of course, is avocado. I put it on everything. On my eggs, on my toast, on rice cakes, with chicken and veggies, everything and it’s so so good. Avocado has so many health benefits such as helping to lower bad cholesterol and improving brain function. It is high in fiber and potassium and contains over 20 vitamins and minerals. Plus, it tastes DELICIOUS. How could you not love something that tastes so delicious? Haven’t had it in a while? Go get yourself some avocados and i guarantee you will be hooked.
  5. Blueberries.

IMG_1028

Blueberries are currently my favorite fruit. Since California i have been obsessed. They are delicious by themselves, in pancakes, in oatmeal, or topped with reddi whip. I like to add them on top of my daily protein ice cream at the end of the night. Blueberries have a lot of health benefits as well. They contain a lot of antioxidants, are high in fiber, and contain so many vitamins and minerals such as potassium, vitamin b6, vitamin c and vitamin a… to name a few. If you have been sleeping on blueberries lately, i definitely recommend picking some up next time you are at the store. Your body and tastebuds will thank you.

6. Honey Maid S’mores Cereal. 

Be still, my cereal lovin’ heart. Think honey grahams, cocoa puffs, and lucky charms marshmallows got together and had a baby… This is by far the best cereal I’ve had in a while because you get three different cereals in one. The most nutritionally dense cereal ever? No, but that doesn’t mean it’s not delicious. All foods can fit into a healthy diet in moderation, folks. I found this at Walmart. If you are a cereal connoisseur like myself, you need this cereal like… yesterday.

7. Hot Miami Styles.

This is probably going to be the only non-food item on this list of monthly favorites so you know it’s gotta be good. This is where i ordered my most recent bikini. The suit i ordered was called the “Neon Pink High Waste Bikini” in a size small top/bottom. (www.hotmiamistyles.com or search @hotmiamistyles on instagram). Super cute suits, reasonably priced, and true to size suits. Myself, Morgan and a few others of my friends have ordered from here and we all have had great success. I always question whether or not it is a good idea to order swimsuits online because that can always be a disaster, but based off their sizing guide and the styles of their suits, i had no problems. Plus, this suit shipped out fast and I had it within about a week from ordering. If you are in currently trying to decide where to buy your  next swimsuit, go checkout Hot Miami Styles.


There we have it– my favorites (mostly food) for the month of July. I am curious what some of your favorites have been for the past month or so… Please leave a comment and share below. 

As i have mentioned a few times, i am trying really hard to step up my blogging game. With that being said, i would love to know what topics y’all would like to hear/learn/read more about. Never hesitate to leave a comment, message me, email me, whatever it may be, with any topic ideas or questions you may have. 

Thanks so much for taking the time out of your Friday to read my blog and keep checking back for more. Talk soon,

PBANDLAURENKELLY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tell me your thoughts!

